RN contract pay in Alabama — advertised weekly rates
Median $1,910 a week across 1,427 live RN listings in Alabama with posted pay, as of October 31, 2026 — −15.0% against the national median of $2,247.
- $1,910median per week−15.0% vs national
- $1,763–$2,15825th–75th percentilemiddle half of listings
- $2,005mean per week−12.9% vs national
- $51.67median hourly equivalentfrom 1,350 listings with posted hours
- 1,427listings with posted paylive listings, updated every 6 hours
What these figures are
Advertised contract rates, not earned wages. Every number on this page comes from a live RN listing in Alabama that posted a rate — 1,427 of them as of October 31, 2026. 94% are travel contracts, so the figures describe what agencies and employers are offering for contract work this week, usually including housing and meal stipends — not staff salaries and not what any nurse took home. A further 11 listings in Alabama post no rate and are excluded. Weekly figures use the top of each advertised range; hourly equivalents divide by the posted hours where a listing gives them. These figures are complementary to BLS wage data, which reports earned staff wages annually — they are not a substitute for it. Full methodology.
| Group | Listings | 25th pct / wk | Median / wk | 75th pct / wk | Mean / wk | Median hourly equiv. | vs national median |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 1,427 | $1,763 | $1,910 | $2,158 | $2,005 | $51.67 (n=1,350) | −15.0% |
| National | 168,559 | $1,997 | $2,247 | $2,545 | $2,301 | $60.30 (n=159,145) | — |
By work type
| Work type | Listings | Median / wk | 25th–75th pct / wk | Mean / wk | Median hourly equiv. | vs national |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Travel | 1,343 | $1,920 | $1,780–$2,180 | $2,021 | $51.88 (n=1,286) | −14.6% |
| Contract | 66 | $1,620 | $1,557–$1,800 | $1,693 | $45.00 (n=64) | −27.9% |
| Not stated | 16 | too few listings to report (under 30) | ||||
| Part-time | 1 | too few listings to report (under 30) | ||||
| Per diem / PRN | 1 | too few listings to report (under 30) | ||||
By shift
| Shift | Listings | Median / wk | 25th–75th pct / wk | Mean / wk | Median hourly equiv. | vs national |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nights | 740 | $1,891 | $1,739–$2,094 | $1,976 | $52.01 (n=738) | −15.8% |
| Days | 495 | $1,925 | $1,780–$2,218 | $2,007 | $51.31 (n=494) | −14.3% |
| Not stated | 149 | $2,067 | $1,781–$2,470 | $2,150 | $50.07 (n=76) | −8.0% |
| Evenings | 40 | $1,854 | $1,725–$2,044 | $1,950 | $49.50 (n=39) | −17.5% |
| Rotating | 3 | too few listings to report (under 30) | ||||
Specialties in Alabama, ranked by median
| # | Specialty | Listings | Median / wk | 25th–75th pct / wk | Median hourly equiv. | vs national | Jobs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cath Lab | 32 | $2,156 | $1,941–$2,361 | $59.88 | −4.0% | 32 jobs |
| 2 | PCU | 96 | $2,081 | $1,849–$2,472 | $54.17 | −7.4% | 96 jobs |
| 3 | OR | 54 | $2,074 | $1,884–$2,283 | $51.61 | −7.7% | 54 jobs |
| 4 | CVICU | 39 | $1,997 | $1,910–$2,189 | $55.31 | −11.1% | 39 jobs |
| 5 | ER | 227 | $1,906 | $1,729–$2,094 | $52.03 | −15.2% | 227 jobs |
| 6 | Med-Surg | 493 | $1,875 | $1,739–$2,146 | $50.75 | −16.6% | 493 jobs |
| 7 | ICU | 277 | $1,873 | $1,738–$2,077 | $51.61 | −16.6% | 277 jobs |
Too few listings to rank (under 30): L&D (28), Oncology (24), Home Health (19), Psych (18), Rehab (15), CVOR (13), Hospice (8), Interventional Radiology (8), Long Term Acute (8), NICU (8), Dialysis (6), Telemetry (4), Coronary Care (3), Endoscopy (2), Post Partum (2), Case Management (1), LTC (1), Orthopedics (1).
Cite this page
RN Jobs Near Me. (2026). RN contract pay in Alabama — advertised weekly rates. Retrieved October 31, 2026 from https://rnjobsnearme.com/rn-salary/alabama. Data as of October 31, 2026.
Licence: CC BY 4.0. Reproduce the figures, tables and charts freely — in print or online — with attribution to RN Jobs Near Me and a link. Figures are advertised contract rates from live listings, not earned wages; the methodology explains what is and is not counted. The numbers on this page are also available as CSV, with the citation and licence on its first line.